Wyoming Marriage Laws

Known for its expansive plains and stunning desolate beauty, Wyoming can be a rather original wedding destination. Equally unique are some of the processes that govern its marriages. Having carefully sifted through the paragraphs of relevant legal code, we’ve chosen to detail, from start to finish, all the steps both couples and ministers must take to ensure any wedding ceremony performed in the state is ultimately legally binding.

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

You need to be at least 18 years old to legally marry in Wyoming, unless you have reached age 16 and have secured either the verbal or written consent of a parent or recognized legal guardian. In fact, any minor can technically get married with the approval of a state judge, and then have that license authorized by a county clerk.

Wyoming welcomes couples from out of state and country, and currently recognizes marriage equality, which means same-sex couples can legally wed.

Marriage License Requirements

Min. Age of Witnesses:
18 Years
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

Couples in Wyoming must present themselves to a state county when applying for a marriage license. That clerk will verify all relevant info to ensure that all is legally sound, before issuing and dating the marriage license in question. It costs $30 to apply.

All marriage licenses in Wyoming must then be picked up in person, where some form of official government-issued photo ID will have to be presented. Proof of prior divorce is not required, and no state – Wyoming included – will ever require blood tests to discount incestuous relationships and secure a marriage license.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
None
License Valid For:
1 Year
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 10 Days of Ceremony

A marriage license issued in the state of Wyoming can be solemnized both civilly and religiously to suit the desires of the couple. All ULC ministers are ordained to perform legal weddings, making any ceremony they perform a "religious" one.

Wyoming does not mandate any sort of designated waiting period required between obtaining the marriage license and performing the ceremony, which might be great for out-of-town couples with a penchant for efficiency. Those who prefer not to rush will take solace in the fact that a Wyoming marriage license is valid for an entire year.

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Varies by County
Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

Ministers officiating weddings in Wyoming must be at least 18 years of age, which just happens to be the age we require for online ordination. Beyond that, it doesn't matter where ministers live, their identifying gender or personal belief system.

Ministers who've been ordained online who are planning to officiate should first reach out to the county clerk in the jurisdiction where the wedding will take place, as the documents required for registration will vary by county. The minister must contact the exact same office that will be issuing the marriage license to ask if they require physical ministerial documentation in order to perform the ceremony. This is something the ULC generally recommends its ministers carry with them, and for that reason we recommend the Classic Wedding Package to our ministers.

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes

For a wedding to be considered legal in Wyoming, it’s crucial that the officiating minister, the couple, and two adult witnesses who will sign the certificate once the marriage is solemnized physically be present.

While the couple is free to customize the ceremony to their taste, the state will require they provide some form of official consent to marry during the ceremony. The officiating minister will then have to publicly pronounce that consent.

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

The officiant's job doesn’t end with the pronouncement, however.

The officiating minister will be required to fill out their relevant section of the marriage license. They should mark their title as "minister", identify the relevant church as "Universal Life Church Ministries" and list their home address in the event a church address is required.

It’s also usually up to the minister to make sure the marriage license is submitted back to the issuing county clerk office in time. In Wyoming, that means within 10 days of the wedding. The failure of either the officiating minister or county clerk to do so may be punishable by a maximum $500 fine and up to a year in prison.

While the punishment for anyone posing as an authorized officiating minister is equally serious, couples falsely lured into any such deception will not be held criminally liable.