Utah Marriage Laws

Marriage laws in Utah are as unique as its breathtaking landscape, and therefore require that couples and ministers tread carefully in order to ensure that the road to a legally binding union is a smooth one. That’s why the Universal Life Church Ministries has sifted through the mountains of legal code and decided to detail every step of the process in this practical, easy-to-follow guide.

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes

There is no such thing as a virtual wedding in Utah. The state asks that all relevant parties be physically present during the marriage ceremony. This includes the couple, the officiating minister and at least two witnesses over the age of 18.

While the couple may fashion the ceremony in any way they see fit, the state of Utah will require that each party provide some form of official consent to marry during the celebration, agreeing to take each other as whatever combination of husband and wife applies, and having that consent pronounced publicly by the officiating minister.

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

Anyone wishing to marry in Utah must be at least 18 years old. Minors 16 years and older can also wed with the authorization of a parent, legal guardian or juvenile court.

Residents and non-residents alike are welcome to plan a wedding in Utah, as are same-sex couples. The state will not tolerate weddings between divorced couples, nor solemnize any union it deems to be incestuous: between ancestors and descendants, siblings and step siblings, and even first cousins – unless those first cousins happen to be over 65 years old, or even over 55 years old if they can prove their sterility to the district county court in which they are looking to wed.

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

The state of Utah lists a wide range of potential ministers sanctioned to solemnize marriages, from secular state governors, mayors, politicians and judges to a wide swath of religious representatives, including Native American spiritual advisers. Its main demand is that any officiating minister be at least 18 years old – the same age that we at the ULC require for online ordination. The minister's state of residence, gender and belief systems are of no consequence. If the office issuing the marriage license needs to see any proof of ordination, we recommend our ministers order the Classic Wedding Package! This way, you can have all relevant documents the state of Utah might need to see.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
None
License Valid For:
32 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 30 Days of Ceremony

Marriage licenses obtained in Utah can be solemnized in both religious and civil ceremonies, according to the couple’s wishes. Ministers ordained by the Universal Life Church, it should be noted, are considered "religious" actors by law.

Couples looking to tie the knot in Utah can do so the same day they procure their marriage license. Once granted, that license will be valid for a period of 30 days. More importantly, it must be submitted back to the same county clerk that issued it within 30 days of the ceremony by the officiating minister, filled out and signed along with a marriage certificate that will include the date and place of the celebration, as well as the names of the two witnesses present. Any minister who fails to return a license in the prescribed period will be guilty of an infraction.

Marriage License Requirements

Min. Age of Witnesses:
18 Years
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

Couples looking to tie the knot in Utah will need to visit a county clerk to secure a marriage license, the fees for which will range from $35 to $80 depending on the county.

A simple government ID will be sufficient to prove your identity and residence, and the clerk will require neither proof of divorce nor blood tests to discount any incestuous relationships. While this application process may seem rather straightforward, please note that couples must also provide a sworn written affidavit to the effect that there is no lawful reason standing in the way of the marriage. It is therefore up to both parties in the couple to understand what reasons those may be as far as the state of Utah is concerned, as any false statements made in the affidavit will be considered perjury.

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

Once the ceremony is over, it’s up to the minister to fill out their relevant sections of the marriage license, including their title as "minister" and the relevant ordaining body as "Universal Life Church Ministries." The minister should list their home address if the marriage license specifically asks for the church address. Once signed, both the marriage certificate and license must be returned to the same issuing county clerk within 30 days. Failure to do so will constitute an infraction.