Florida Marriage Laws

Written and edited for accuracy by the Florida marriage law researchers at the Universal Life Church on

Florida has unique state rules and regulations that govern the marriages and the officiation of weddings. In our state guide, we have put together all the information you need from start to finish. If you are a member of the couple who is planning a ceremony in Florida, or you are a minister who has been asked to perform a wedding ceremony in the state we have all the details below to make sure you have a legally recognized wedding ceremony.

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:
Number of Witnesses Required:
Min. Age of Witnesses:
Couple's Consent Required:
Pronouncement Required:

It is necessary that the couple and the minister are physically present together for the ceremony and the signing of the paperwork. There is no marriage by proxy allowed in Florida, and no witnesses are required.

The legally required portions of the wedding ceremony are the ones that we are all familiar with. This would be the “I do’s”, or couple’s verbal consent, and the “I now pronounce you...” of the minister that proclaims the couple as wed. Other than those two essential pieces, the ceremony may be completely customized to the desires and preferences of the couple.

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 17 With Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
First Cousins
Marriage Equality:

In Florida, only adults who are at least age 18 may apply for a wedding license. There are exceptions for minors who are age 17 or older that have parental/guardian consent. The court may also consider applicants under the age of 16 on a case-by-case basis. In these cases the older party of the couple may be no more than 2 years older if one person is under age of 17.

There is no residency requirement in the state of Florida to obtain a marriage license. This means any out-of-state couple is welcome to hold a beachside destination wedding of their dreams in Florida.

Just like all states in the US, Florida recognizes marriage equality so same-sex couples can wed.

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

The minimum age for a minister in Florida is 18 years old. This is also the age requirement for applying to be ordained online with the ULC. Other than the age requirement, as a minister in Florida it does not matter what your gender, where you are from, or what you believe.

Required documentation varies by county. The minister should contact the office issuing the marriage license to the couple to see what, if anything, that office needs from them. The County Clerk will let you know if they need to see credentials or get application paperwork from the minister before the ceremony. Even if they do not require paperwork upfront, we always advise ministers performing weddings to have a copy of their ordination credential. This way if they do have any issues or questions, it is easy to provide proof.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
3 Days for FL Residents, None for Non-Residents
License Valid For:
60 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 10 Days of Ceremony

Couples and ministers need to make sure the marriage license type is “religious” and not “civil”. The difference is merely under what authority the solemnizer is performing the wedding. A minister of the Universal Life Church has been granted religious authority by the church to perform the wedding. And this is what makes the wedding a “religious” one, regardless of the wedding style and if it features any faith based elements.

The waiting period in Florida is three days from the application date until the marriage license is issued for in state residents. This three day waiting period can be waived if proof of premarital counseling is provided. Out-of-state residents will not be required to wait 3 days, so that will come in handy for those planning a destination ceremony.

Once the license is issued it will be good for 60 days. It needs to be returned to the Clerk for filing within 10 days of the wedding ceremony.

Marriage License Requirements

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Florida
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Varies by County
Accepted I.D. Types:
Standard Government Issued ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

The couple must travel in person to the Clerk’s office to get the marriage license issued. They should bring a government issued photo identification with them to show the clerk.

The County Clerk’s office will collect a fee that varies by county at the time the paperwork is filed. Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide completion certificates will only be required to pay $61.00 and the three (3) day waiting period will be waived.

They do not require proof of a previous divorce, and there are no blood tests required from the couple in order to get a marriage license.

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

Finalizing the wedding by signing all of the documentation fully and accurately is needed to ensure a legally binding marriage.

On the marriage license there will be a portion to be filled out by the couple and one that needs to be completed by the minister. In the officiant’s section they will ask for a name, and the minister should list their full legal name without any titles. They will have a separate blank for the title of the officiant, that should be filled in with “minister”. If it asks for the name of the church or ordaining body, put “Universal Life Church Ministries.” If the license asks for the address of the minister’s church, please give the minister’s home address in the case they need to be contacted.

It is of the utmost importance that the license is completed without mistakes, because in some cases errors may require the costly reissuance of a new license.

The completed license needs to be returned by the officiant to the office that issued it within ten days of the wedding ceremony.

Although ULC headquarters does not record all of the marriages that its ministers perform, we do always advise our ministers to keep a good personal record of any and all wedding ceremonies that they perform. This is especially important if they will be paid for their services.

Interested in Performing a Florida wedding?

Be a FL Wedding Officiant

Are you Considering Becoming a Minister in Florida?

See the Steps to FL Ordination

Proceed to your Ordination Application

Become Ordained