Maine Marriage Laws
Congratulations! If you've found yourself at this page it is likely that you are either planning to be married or have been asked to perform a wedding ceremony in Maine. Ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church have successfully performed thousands of legal marriages in Maine. The information provided below will walk you through the steps one must follow to become a minister and perform a valid wedding ceremony in the state of Maine.
- ULC Ordination Accepted: Yes
- Minister Registration Required: No
- Minister's Residency: Irrelevant
- Minister's Minimum Age: 18
- Marriage License Waiting Period: 3 Days
- Marriage License Valid For: 90 Days
- Marriage License Return Within: 15 Days
1 How to Become an Ordained Minister in Maine
If you haven't already, you should get ordained online with the Universal Life Church. Ordination is free and can be completed in just a matter of minutes. Thousands of legally valid marriages are performed by ULC ministers around the world every year. Begin the process by clicking the big blue button below!
2 How to Officiate a Marriage in Maine
Next, you should contact the office of your local marriage authority (typically your county clerk). Let them know that you are a minister of the Universal Life Church in Seattle, and ask what they will require of you to officiate a legal marriage.
Select your county to quickly generate the contact information for your local marriage authority.
Select a county
3 License to Marry in Maine
After you've contacted your marriage authority, you should visit our online store to purchase whatever documentation will be required. We typically advise ministers in Maine to get an Ordination Package. While minister registration is not technically required in Maine you may be required to present proof of your ordination to the local authorities before any marriages you perform will be accepted as having been legally solemnized. As an added bonus, having this proof of your ordination will provide peace-of-mind to any couple that you intend to marry. Additionally, please attempt to leave at least 3 weeks between the date of the wedding ceremony and your order, to ensure that you receive all of your materials in advance.
4 How to Perform a Wedding in Maine
Now that you've done all of the above, you are ready to perform the wedding! Be sure that the couple has picked up their Maine marriage license from the appropriate office. This license is valid for 90 days, and there is a 3-day mandatory waiting period between when the couple receives the marriage license in Maine and when the ceremony may be legally performed. Please be aware that the signed license must be returned to the issuing office within 15 days of the completion of the wedding ceremony.
At the Universal Life Church we receive several calls from wedding officiants in Maine, after they've received their license to marry by getting ordained online, asking for guidance on how to perform a wedding ceremony. Once the legal matters have been taken care of, officiating a wedding (while a sometimes-daunting task) can be a great deal of fun. We would suggest that new Maine wedding ministers concerned about the ceremony peruse one of our helpful wedding guides. The minister training section of our website should offer a helpful refresher for more experienced ministers.
Maine Marriage CodeMarriage in Maine is governed by Chapter 23 of Title 19 of the Maine Revised Statutes. Ministers who got ordained online with the Universal Life Church have successfully solemnized thousands of weddings in the state. Below, you will find that we have reproduced a relevant excerpt of this code.
1. Persons authorized to solemnize marriages. The following may solemnize marriages in this State:
A. If a resident of this State:
(1) A justice or judge;
(2) A lawyer admitted to the Maine Bar; or
(4) A notary public under Title 4, chapter 19; [2011, c. 111, §2 (AMD).]
B. Whether a resident or nonresident of this State and whether or not a citizen of the United States:
(1) An ordained minister of the gospel;
(2) A cleric engaged in the service of the religious body to which the cleric belongs; or
(3) A person licensed to preach by an association of ministers, religious seminary or ecclesiastical body; and [2011, c. 111, §3 (AMD).]
C. A nonresident of the State who has a temporary registration certificate issued by the Office of Data, Research and Vital Statistics pursuant to subsection 1-A. [2011, c. 111, §4 (NEW).]
[ 2011, c. 111, §§2-4 (AMD) .]
View the Maine Statutes on the official state site⇓ Show the rest
Androscoggin County2 Turner Street
Phone: (207) 784-8390
Androscoggin County website »
Aroostook County26 Court Street
Phone: (207) 532-1502
Aroostook County website »
Cumberland County25 Pearl St.
Phone: (207) 871-8389
Fax: (207) 772-4162
Cumberland County website »
Franklin County140 Main Street
Phone: (207) 778-6614
Franklin County website »
Hancock County50 State Street
Phone: (207) 667-7176
Hancock County website »
Kennebec County125 State Street, 2nd Floor
Phone: (207) 622-0971
Fax: (207) 622-4083
Kennebec County website »
Knox County62 Union Street
Phone: (207) 594-0420
Fax: (207) 594-0443
Knox County website »
Lincoln County32 High Street
Phone: (207) 882-7431
Fax: (207) 882-4061
Lincoln County website »
Oxford County85 Pleasant St.
Phone: (207) 539-4228
Fax: (207) 539-4431
Oxford County website »
Penobscot County97 Hammond Street
Phone: (207) 942-8535
Penobscot County website »
Piscataquis County159 E Main Street
Phone: (207) 564-2411
Piscataquis County website »
Sagadahoc County752 High Street
Phone: (207) 443-8214
Sagadahoc County website »
Somerset County41 Court St.
Phone: (207) 474-9861
Fax: (207) 474-7405
Somerset County website »
Waldo County39 Spring Street
Phone: (207) 338-3282
Waldo County website »
Washington County47 Court Street
Phone: (207) 255-3127
Washington County website »
York County186 York Street
Phone: (207) 363-1003
Fax: (207) 363-1009
York County website »