Maine Marriage Laws

Written and edited for accuracy by the Maine marriage law researchers at the Universal Life Church on

With more coastline, granite trails and lobster shacks per capita than anywhere in the country, the state of Maine is definitely not lacking for wedding destination appeal. Even the Pine Tree State’s marriage laws are relatively reasonable and straightforward by comparison. So interested couples and ministers take heed: a quick glance at the following step-by-step guide, complete with relevant legal code, should be all you need to put together a wedding that is both easy and legally binding in the state of Maine.

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by City
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
City Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

Maine legally recognizes both civil and religious unions on its soil. To that end, any justice, judge, lawyer or notary can solemnize a marriage provided they reside in the state. Ordained ministers of the gospel, clergy, or anyone else licensed to preach by a religious seminary or ecclesiastical body can also perform a wedding in Maine, whether or not they reside in the state or country. Non-residents can also apply for a temporary registration certificate in the state. All officiants must be at least 18 years old.

Ministers ordained online by the Universal Life Church, authorized to perform weddings without prejudice to gender or beliefs, fall under the category of legal religious actors. ULC ministers in Maine often elect to order the Classic Wedding Package to make sure they've got the necessary documentation at the ready, should they be asked to present it.

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:

Maine has no specific requirements on the ceremony beyond its stipulation that both minister and couple be physically present, leaving either or both free to plan the occasion to fit their unique traditions and tastes. Each person in the couple, however, must formally and solemnly declare their intent to take the other as spouse before two adult witnesses apart from the minister for the union to be legal and binding.

Marriage License Requirements

Any two persons of any sex looking to get married in Maine must personally present themselves before a city clerk, fill out a written application for a marriage license and swear an oath to the information provided therein. First cousins will need to submit a physician’s certificate proving genetic counseling, while any persons who were previously married must produce the relevant divorce, annulment or spousal death certificate. Foreign records will have to be translated into English at the party’s cost.

There is a $40 fee for any marriage license issued in the state of Maine.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
90 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 7 Working Days of Ceremony

Marriage licenses issued in the state of Maine come with no prescribed waiting period, meaning that couples can technically perform the ceremony on the same day. The license will be valid for 90 days, and in any county in the state, after which it will become void. All licenses must be returned to the issuing clerk or state registrar within 7 working days of the ceremony.

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:

Only adults 18 years and older are allowed to consent to marriage in the state of Maine. Minors 16 years and older must seek the written consent of their parents or legal guardians in order to wed, while those under 16 will also require the authorization of a probate judge tasked with determining what’s in the best interest of the couple.

Maine prohibits all marriages between relatives closer in blood than second cousins. First cousins intent on getting married must first seek genetic counseling from a recognized physician in order to better understand the potential risks to their offspring.

All same-sex and LGTBQ couples are welcome to get married in the state.

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

The couples may have declared their ‘I-DOs’. But the officiant’s job doesn’t end there.

It’s their job to ensure the marriage license is filled out to include the names of the parties united in marriage and any name changes resulting from that union, the place and date of the ceremony, and the name of the two witnesses present. The person who solemnized the marriage must also include their own name, title, civic or ordaining body (Universal Life Church Ministries) and their personal address.

That license must then be returned to either the State Registrar of Vital Statistics or the clerk who issued it within 7 working days of the ceremony. The minister or magistrate must also indicate the date they were either ordained or admitted to the bar, or the date their notary public’s commission or temporary registration certificate expires.

Interested in Performing a Maine wedding?

Be a ME Wedding Officiant

Are you Considering Becoming a Minister in Maine?

See the Steps to ME Ordination

Proceed to your Ordination Application

Become Ordained