Oklahoma Marriage Laws

Written and edited for accuracy by the Oklahoma marriage law researchers at the Universal Life Church on

Although it once made up a decent chunk of the Wild West, the state of Oklahoma has come to take law and order to heart – at least when it comes to managing weddings on its soil. Couples and ministers looking to get married in the Sooner State are therefore advised to do their homework. That’s why we at the Universal Life Church have compiled the following easy-to-follow guide, highlighting the steps to both applying for and securing a marriage license with relevant Oklahoma law, so that you may ultimately take part in a ceremony that is both beautiful and legally binding.

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:

Although only persons over 18 years of age are legally allowed to marry, the state of Oklahoma does provide numerous – albeit administratively taxing – exceptions. Minors over 16 years old must either provide the consent of a parent or guardian, the approval of a court either in-state or out, or a written affidavit from either a parent, legal guardian or even military officer in the event said person is incapable of appearing before the court. Minors under the age of 16 will only be issued a marriage license in the rare cases where the unmarried female is pregnant or has already given birth to an illegitimate child, and the court judge has gained the consent of either the minor’s parent or the child’s legal custodian.

Oklahoma also forbids any marriages between ancestors and descendants of any degree, between step parents and step children, uncles and nieces, aunts and nephews, brothers and sisters of the half as well as the whole blood, and first cousins. That being said, it will recognize marriages of first cousins authorized in other states.

Recent changes in federal marriage laws means the state must now recognize same-sex marriages.

Marriage License Requirements

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Oklahoma
Marriage License Pick-Up
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Accepted I.D. Types:
Photo ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

Any couple who desires to be married in the state of Oklahoma must submit an application, both in writing and in person, that is signed and sworn before the clerk of the district court. Both parties must list their full names, ages and residence, providing photo ID as proof. They must also list the names each will assume after marriage, and divulge whether or not they’ve successfully completed a premarital counseling program, which will result in a reduced $5 application fee instead of the regular $50 charge.

If the clerk is satisfied with the information provided, a marriage license and certificate will be issued as a single document. The license will be valid in any county in the state, and must be filled out and returned once the marriage has been solemnized.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
Varies by County
License Must Be Submitted:
Varies by County

A marriage license granted in the state of Oklahoma must include the date it is issued, the name and location of the court issuing it, all relevant identifying information collected from the couple, the name of the minister authorized to perform the ceremony and, perhaps most importantly, the date by which the completed marriage certificate must be filled out and returned to the same court before it is considered null and void.

While there is no mandated waiting period between receiving the license and performing the ceremony, (unless you are a minor, in which case it is 72 hours) please pay close attention, as the validity of a marriage license and the period in which it must be returned can vary wildly from county to county, anywhere from 5 to 30 days.

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Before the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

Ministers tasked with performing a wedding in Oklahoma must be at least 18 years old, and will need to file a copy of their relevant ministry credentials that authorizes them to solemnize marriages with the office of the court clerk in the county where they reside (or in the county where the wedding will take place in the event they are non-residents) before the ceremony takes place. While there is no fee for doing this, the documents requested may vary from county to county.

Bear in mind that ministers ordained by the Universal Life Church are considered religious actors, and will therefore be recognized as such by the state, without prejudice to place of residence, gender or personal beliefs.

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:

The state of Oklahoma recognizes both civil and religious ceremonies, whether performed by relevant judges or preachers, ministers, priests, rabbis, or other ecclesiastical dignitaries. Even marriages between Quakers, the Baha'is and Mormons, faiths which recognize no ordained ministers, may be solemnized in the manner prescribed by and practiced in any such society, church, or assembly.

In other words, the state of Oklahoma has no desire to get in between a couple and the flow and customs of their marriage ceremony. The only requirement is that both the couple and minister be physically present and perform a formal ceremony before at least two competent adult witnesses; that each party in the couple consent to taking their partner as husband or wife, and that the minister ultimately pronounce the couple whatever combination of married man and woman applies to their case.

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

It is strictly the minister’s duty to endorse the license immediately after solemnizing the marriage, marking their name, clerical designation, congregation (the Universal Life Church Ministries) and their own home address. They must ensure both witnesses also endorse the marriage certificate, attesting to their presence and providing relevant names and addresses, and that the couple sign as well using their new married names.

Once completed, the original license and completed marriage certificate must be returned to the same county clerk where it was issued within 5 and 20 days of the ceremony, depending on the county.

Interested in Performing a Oklahoma wedding?

Be a OK Wedding Officiant

Are you Considering Becoming a Minister in Oklahoma?

See the Steps to OK Ordination

Proceed to your Ordination Application

Become Ordained