Requirements for the Minister
- Min. Age of Minister:
- Age 18
- Not Required
- Document(s) Required:
- Ordination Credential
- Online Ordination Recognized:
- Relevant Office of Registration:
- Probate Court
- Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
- Before the Ceremony
- Minister I.D. # Issued:
The state of Kansas recognizes both civil and religious officiants capable of solemnizing weddings. This includes any ordained clergyman or religious figurehead regardless of denomination, any denomination or sect without an authorized marriage officiant, and all justices or judges (either serving or retired) of any municipal, state or federal court.
Ministers ordained online by the Universal Life Church are recognized as legal ‘religious actors’ in the state, regardless of gender or personal beliefs. Ministers must present their ordination credentials to the probate court before any ceremony can take place.
It’s illegal for any unauthorized person to officiate a marriage in Kansas. Anybody found guilty of doing so could face a $100 fine.
(a) Marriage may be validly solemnized and contracted in this state, after a license has been issued for the marriage, in the following manner: By the mutual declarations of the two parties to be joined in marriage, made before an authorized officiating person and in the presence of at least two competent witnesses over 18 years of age, other than the officiating person, that they take each other as husband and wife. (b) The following are authorized to be officiating persons: (1) Any currently ordained clergyman or religious authority of any religious denomination or society; (2) any licentiate of a denominational body or an appointee of any bishop serving as the regular clergyman of any church of the denomination to which the licentiate or appointee belongs, if not restrained from so doing by the discipline of that church or denomination; (3) any judge or justice of a court of record; (4) any municipal judge of a city of this state; and (5) any retired judge or justice of a court of record. (c) The two parties themselves, by mutual declarations that they take each other as husband and wife, in accordance with the customs, rules and regulations of any religious society, denomination or sect to which either of the parties belong, may be married without an authorized officiating person.
Wedding Ceremony Requirements
- Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
- Minister Required to be Present:
- Number of Witnesses Required:
- Varies by County
In order for any marriage to be legally solemnized and contracted in Kansas, the state requires that both members of the couple provide formal and mutual declarations to be joined in marriage; those declarations made before an authorized officiant and in the physical presence of at least two competent witnesses over 18 years of age.
It shall be unlawful for any person not a duly authorized officiating person as provided by K.S.A. 23-104a to perform the marriage ceremony in this state. Any person violating the provisions of this act shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Marriage License Requirements
- Who Picks Up License:
- The Couple
- Where License is Valid:
- Any County in Kansas
- Marriage License Pick-Up:
- In Person Only
- Cost of License:
- Accepted I.D. Types:
- Government Issued ID
- Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
- Blood Test Required:
At least one member of the couple must present themselves, in person, before a county clerk or judge in order to apply for a marriage license. The applicant must prove their age with a government-issued ID and swear an oath on all information provided in the written application, including the date of any divorces if applicable, as well as the names of parents or legal guardians in the case of minors. Any person found to be swearing falsely on the application will be guilty of a misdemeanor and fined up to $500.
Please also remember that the $85.50 fee for the marriage license must be paid in cash.
(a) The judge or clerk of the district court shall collect from the applicant for a marriage license a fee of $85.50 (b) The clerk of the court shall remit all fees prescribed by this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury. Of each remittance, the state treasurer shall credit 38.98% to the protection from abuse fund, 15.19% to the family and children trust account of the family and children investment fund created by K.S.A. 38-1808, and amendments thereto, 16.95% to the crime victims assistance fund created by K.S.A. 74-7334, and amendments thereto, 15.25% to the judicial branch nonjudicial salary adjustment fund created by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 20-1a15, and amendments thereto, and the remainder to the state general fund. (c) Except as provided further, the marriage license fee established in this section shall be the only fee collected or moneys in the nature of a fee collected for a marriage license. Such fee shall only be established by an act of the legislature and no other authority is established by law or otherwise to collect a fee. On and after July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010, the supreme court may impose an additional charge, not to exceed $10 per marriage license fee, to fund the costs of non-judicial personnel.
Marriage License Facts
- ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
- Mandatory Waiting Period:
- 3 Days
- License Valid For:
- 6 Months
- License Must Be Submitted:
- Within 10 Days of Ceremony
That marriage license must contain the name of the county and the precise date it was issued, the names of both persons to be married, and the name of the clerk or judge who issued it. No marriage license can be issued before the third calendar day after the application is filed without the approval of a district court judge.
Couples have six months in which to solemnize the wedding once the marriage license is in their hands. It will be valid in all of Kansas. The person tasked with performing the ceremony, meanwhile, has ten days in which to return it to the same issuing clerk.
§ 23-106 (f) Every marriage license shall expire at the end of six months from the date of issuance if the marriage for which the license was issued does not take place within the six-month period of time.
Requirements for the Couple
- Min. Age of Couple:
- Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
- Not Required
- Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
- Second Cousins
- Marriage Equality:
Only adults 18 years or older are allowed to legally marry in the state of Kansas. Exceptions will be made for 16 and 17-year-olds who have the written consent of both parents or legal guardians. In certain cases, a judge can also grant a 15-year-old permission to marry if an investigation determines it is in that person's best interest.
The state of Kansas will deem all marriages between relatives closer in blood than second cousins to be incestuous and void. And the US Supreme Court continues to uphold federal rulings allowing same-sex and LGBTQ couples to marry in any state.
(a) The clerks of the district courts or judges thereof, when applied to for a marriage license by any person who is one of the parties to the proposed marriage and who is legally entitled to a marriage license, shall issue a marriage license in substance as follows: MARRIAGE LICENSE (Name of place where office located, month, day and year.) TO ANY PERSON authorized by law to perform the marriage ceremony, Greeting: You are hereby authorized to join in marriage A B of ____________, date of birth _______, and C D of ____________, date of birth _______, (and name of parent or guardian consenting), and of this license, duly endorsed, you will make due return to this office immediately after performing the ceremony. E F, (title of person issuing the license). (b) No clerk or judge of the district court shall issue a marriage license before the third calendar day (Sunday and holidays included) following the date of the filing of the application therefor in such clerk's or judge's office except that in cases of emergency or extraordinary circumstances, a judge of the district court may upon proper showing being made, permit by order of the court the issuance of such marriage license without waiting three days. Each district court shall keep a record of all marriages resulting from licenses issued by the court, which record shall show the names of the persons who were married and the date of the marriage. (c) No clerk or judge shall issue a license authorizing the marriage of any person: (1) Under the age of 16 years, except that a judge of the district court may, after due investigation, give consent and issue the license authorizing the marriage of a person 15 years of age when the marriage is in the best interest of the person 15 years of age; or (2) who is 16 or 17 years of age without the express consent of such person's father, mother or legal guardian and the consent of the judge unless consent of both the mother and father and any legal guardian or all then living parents and any legal guardian is given in which case the consent of the judge shall not be required. If not given in person at the time of the application, the consent shall be evidenced by a written certificate subscribed thereto and duly attested. Where the applicants or either of them are 16 or 17 years of age and their parents are dead and there is no legal guardian then a judge of the district court may after due investigation give consent and issue the license authorizing the marriage. (d) The judge or clerk may issue a license upon the affidavit of the party personally appearing and applying therefor, to the effect that the parties to whom such license is to be issued are of lawful age, as required by this section, and the judge or clerk is hereby authorized to administer oaths for that purpose. (e) Every person swearing falsely in such affidavit shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine not exceeding $500. A clerk or judge of the district court shall state in every license the birth dates of the parties applying for the same, and if either or both are 16 or 17 years of age, the name of the father, mother, or guardian consenting to such marriage.
- Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
- Church/Ordaining Body:
- Universal Life Church Ministries
- Address of Church:
- Minister's Home Address
As per Kansas state law, it is up to the person performing the wedding ceremony to endorse both copies of the marriage certificate attached to the original license, to leave the duplicate with the couple and to return the remaining documents to the same judge or district court clerk who issued it within 10 days of the marriage.
The clerk will record this on the state’s marriage record and then forward all documents, along with the minister’s name and address, to the secretary of health and environment.
(a) Every person who performs a marriage ceremony under the provisions of this act shall endorse the person's certificate of the marriage on the license, give the duplicate copy of the license to the parties to the marriage and return the license, within 10 days after the marriage, to the judge or clerk of the district court who issued it. The judge or clerk shall record the marriage on the marriage record in the office of the judge or clerk and shall forward, not later than the third day of the following month, to the secretary of health and environment the license and certificate of marriage, together with a statement of the names of the parties and the name and address of the person who performed the marriage ceremony. (b) If no marriage license has been issued by the judge or clerk of the district court during a month, the judge or clerk shall promptly notify the secretary of health and environment to that effect on a form provided for that purpose.