Connecticut Marriage Laws

Written and edited for accuracy by the Connecticut marriage law researchers at the Universal Life Church on

Connecticut has their own unique set of laws that govern marriages. We have collected all of the answers to the top questions about getting married and officiating weddings in Connecticut, and created a concise guide with everything that you need to know.

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
Town Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

The law in Connecticut holds that someone cannot be ordained for the sole purpose of performing a wedding. As such, after getting ordained online, ULC ministers are urged to order a Letter of Good Standing and select "Connecticut" from the drop-down menu of location options. This letter acknowledges the law and expresses compliance with it. More importantly, a minister must also perform at least one ministerial act prior to the wedding. This can include meeting with others for study or discussion of religious topics. We highly recommend keeping minutes of who attended this meeting and what was discussed. Ministers that have done this have not had any trouble having their weddings legally recognized.​

Ministers officiating weddings in Connecticut must be at least 18 years old. There are no residency requirements for ministers in Connecticut.

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:
Number of Witnesses Required:
Min. Age of Witnesses:
Not Applicable
Couple's Consent Required:
Pronouncement Required:

In Connecticut the couple and the minister must all be physically present together for the wedding ceremony. There is no marriage by proxy in Connecticut. Three people are all that is required for a legally binding ceremony because, by law, no witnesses are required.

The ceremony script can be totally customized to the needs and desires of the couple. There are only two legally required portions. These are the verbal confirmation that the couple gives, usually known as the “I do’s”, and the minister’s pronouncement that the couple is now wed.

Marriage License Requirements

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Town of Issuance
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Accepted I.D. Types:
Photo ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

The couple must go in person to the Town Clerk to pick up the marriage license with a valid form of photo identification. They need to be sure to get the license at the Town Clerk’s office where the wedding will physically take place. Connecticut marriage licenses only have authority in the town where they are issued.

The cost of the license is $50 and will be collected at the time of the application. There is no blood test, or proof of divorce (if applicable) required in Connecticut.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
65 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
By First Week of Month Following Ceremony

The couple should be sure to obtain a marriage license for a religious ceremony rather than a civil one, if they are asked. The authority of a Universal Life Church minister is to perform a “religious” ceremony regardless of any religious affiliation or lack thereof.

There is no waiting period from when the couple applies and when they are able to use the marriage license. So they can technically do everything on the very same day!

The license is valid for up to 65 days if the couple would like to plan ahead. Once the ceremony is performed the license must be returned to the Town Clerk’s office before or within the first week of the month following the marriage. This means the window for return can vary dramatically depending on what day of the month your marriage takes place. It can be as little as 7 days later, or as much as 38 days later, so be sure to figure this out ahead of time.

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
First Cousins
Marriage Equality:

There are no residency requirements for marriage license applicants in Connecticut. Out of state couples, or even couples from other countries are welcome to hold a destination wedding in Connecticut.

Applicants must be age 18.

Connecticut is a state that recognizes marriage equality and same-sex couples are able to legally wed.

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

Once the ceremony has taken place, there are a few final steps to make sure the wedding is legally binding.

The minister will need to fill out the officiant’s portion of the marriage license. It may ask for a name, where the minister will input their full legal name without any titles. They may have a separate blank to fill in the title, which should be entered as “minister”. If the license asks for the ordaining church, please list Universal Life Church Ministries. In a place where they ask for an address, the minister should give their home address in the case that they need to be contacted.

Take great care to fill out the marriage license with accuracy. All of the relevant parties will need to sign and fill out their respective portions. Any errors could result in an additional fee to reissue the marriage license.

Once the license is completed, it will need to be returned to the Town Clerk’s office before the end of the first week of the month following the ceremony. Again, this can range from 7 days to 38 days after the wedding so please verify this and make sure to get it turned in on time.

The minister will not be required to report the service to church headquarters, but they should alway keep a personal record of any ceremonies that they perform. This is especially the case if they are earning a fee for the service.

If the Town Clerk has any questions they will reach out to the minister after the wedding. This is why we recommend also having an official ministry credential on hand.

Finally, enjoy celebrating the joining of two people in love and have an amazing wedding!

Interested in Performing a Connecticut wedding?

Be a CT Wedding Officiant

Are you Considering Becoming a Minister in Connecticut?

See the Steps to CT Ordination

Proceed to your Ordination Application

Become Ordained