Oregon Outline

Oregon Marriage Laws

Congratulations! If you've found yourself at this page it is likely that you are either planning to be married or have been asked to perform a wedding ceremony in Oregon. Ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church have successfully performed thousands of legal marriages in Oregon. The information provided below will walk you through the steps one must follow to become a minister and perform a valid wedding ceremony in the state of Oregon.

Quick Facts
  • ULC Ordination Accepted: Yes
  • Minister Registration Required: No
  • Minister's Residency: Irrelevant
  • Minister's Minimum Age: 18
  •  
  • Marriage License Waiting Period: 3 Days
  • Marriage License Valid For: 60 Days
  • Marriage License Return Within: 10 Days

1 How to Become an Ordained Minister in Oregon

If you haven't already, you should get ordained online with the Universal Life Church. Ordination is free and can be completed in just a matter of minutes. Thousands of legally valid marriages are performed by ULC ministers around the world every year. Begin the process by clicking the big blue button below!

2 How to Officiate a Marriage in Oregon

Next, you should contact the office of your local marriage authority (typically your county clerk). Let them know that you are a minister of the Universal Life Church in Seattle, and ask what they will require of you to officiate a legal marriage.

Select your county to quickly generate the contact information for your local marriage authority.



Select a county

Oregon's Top Wedding Spot

Oregon's Top Wedding Spot

Portland's Lucier is the big news in party venues

3 License to Marry in Oregon

After you've contacted your marriage authority, you should visit our online store to purchase whatever documentation will be required. We typically advise ministers in Oregon to get an Ordination Package. While minister registration is not required in the state of Oregon, you may be asked by the county clerk to present proof of ordination before the marriage will be accepted as having been legally solemnized. Additionally, please attempt to leave at least 3 weeks between the date of the wedding ceremony and your order, to ensure that you receive all of your materials in advance. In the process of filling out the Oregon marriage license, you may require the physical address of the Universal Life Church Headquarters. You can find this information below: 2730 1st Avenue South, Seattle, WA 98134

Please note that the State of Oregon requires that at least two witnesses over the age of 18 be present at the wedding ceremony, apart from the officiant.

4 How to Perform a Wedding in Oregon

Now that you've done all of the above, you are ready to perform the wedding! Be sure that the couple has picked up their Oregon marriage license from the appropriate office. This license will expire 60 days after it is issued, and there is a mandatory 3-day waiting period between when the couple picks up the marriage license in Oregon and when the ceremony may legally be conducted. The signed license must be returned to the issuing office within 10 days of the ceremony. At the Universal Life Church we receive several calls from wedding officiants in Oregon, after they've received their license to marry by getting ordained online, asking for guidance on how to perform a wedding ceremony. Once the legal matters have been taken care of, officiating a wedding (while a sometimes-daunting task) can be a great deal of fun. We would suggest that new Oregon wedding ministers concerned about the ceremony peruse one of our helpful wedding guides. The minister training section of our website should offer a helpful refresher for more experienced ministers.


Oregon Flag

Oregon Marriage Code

Marriage laws in Oregon are primarily directed by Chapter 106 of Title 11 of Oregon's revised statutes, which defines the persons authorized to perform a marriage in the State of Oregon. This includes ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church, among other individuals. We've reproduced a portion of this code below.
106.120 Who may solemnize marriage; fee; personal payment; records. (1) As used in this section, "judicial officer" means:

(a) A judicial officer of this state as that term is defined in ORS 1.210 and includes but is not limited to a judge of a municipal court and a justice of the peace.

(b) An active judge of a federal court.

(c) An active United States magistrate judge.

(2) Marriages may be solemnized by:

(a) A judicial officer;

(b) A county clerk;

(c) Religious congregations or organizations as indicated in ORS 106.150 (2); or

(d) A clergyperson of any religious congregation or organization who is authorized by the congregation or organization to solemnize marriages.

(3) A person authorized to solemnize marriages under subsection (2) of this section may solemnize a marriage anywhere in this state.

(4)(a) When a marriage is solemnized by a tax, appellate or circuit judge of this state, the clerk of the court or the county clerk shall collect a fee of $100 and deposit the fee in the Judicial Department Operating Account established in ORS 1.009.

(b) When a marriage is solemnized by a county clerk, the county clerk shall collect a fee of $100, as provided in ORS 205.320.

(c) The fee described in this subsection may be collected only if:

(A) The marriage is solemnized during normal working hours, excluding holidays;

(B) The marriage is solemnized in court facilities or a county clerk's office; or

(C) More than a minimal amount of staff time or other court or county clerk's office resources are used in connection with the solemnization.

(d) The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or the county clerk may establish a written procedure for waiver of the fee required under this subsection in exigent circumstances, including but not limited to indigency of the parties to the marriage.

(5) In addition to any fee collected under subsection (4) of this section, a judicial officer of this state and a county clerk may charge and accept an agreed upon personal payment not to exceed $100 plus actual costs for the solemnization of a marriage if that solemnization is performed:

(a) At a place other than the courthouse where the judicial officer or county clerk serves; or

(b) Outside of the judicial officer's or county clerk's normal working hours.

(6) The charging and accepting of a personal payment by a judicial officer of this state or a county clerk under subsection (5) of this section does not constitute a violation of any of the provisions of ORS chapter 244.

(7) The amount of actual costs charged by a judicial officer of this state or a county clerk under subsection (5) of this section may not exceed:

(a) Actual expenses for food and lodging as verified by receipts.

(b) If travel is made by personal vehicle, the actual number of round-trip miles from the judicial officer's or county clerk's home or office, whichever is greater, compensated at the rate of reimbursement then provided by the State of Oregon to its employees or, if travel is made by a commercial
carrier, reimbursement shall be made of the actual costs thereof, verified by receipts.

(8) A judicial officer of this state or a county clerk shall maintain records of the amount of personal payments received for performing marriages, of actual costs and the supporting documentation related thereto for a period of four years.

(9) The parties to a marriage solemnized by a tax, appellate or circuit judge of this state shall show to the judge proof of payment of the fee required under subsection (4)(a) of this section before solemnization. Except as provided in subsection (4)(d) of this section, the judge may not solemnize a marriage without proof of payment of the fee. [Amended by 1971 c.621 §22; 1975 c.607 §22; 1977 c.518 §2; 1979 c.724 §3; 1979 c.833 §24; 1981 c.176 §1; 1991 c.282 §1; 1991 c.458 §1; 1997 c.424 §1; 1999 c.776 §1; 2001 c.501 §1; 2003 c.565 §1; 2003 c.737 §111; 2011 c.595 §89; 2013 c.685 §§42,42a]

Note: The amendments to 106.120 by section 42a, chapter 685, Oregon Laws 2013, become operative July 1, 2014, and apply to marriages solemnized on or after July 1, 2014. See section 43a, chapter 685, Oregon Laws 2013. The text that is operative until July 1, 2014, including amendments by section 42, chapter 685, Oregon Laws 2013, is set forth for the user's convenience.
106.120. (1) As used in this section, "judicial officer" means:

(a) A judicial officer of this state as that term is defined in ORS 1.210 and includes but is not limited to a judge of a municipal court and a justice of the peace.

(b) An active judge of a federal court.

(c) An active United States magistrate judge.

(2) Marriages may be solemnized by:

(a) A judicial officer;

(b) A county clerk;

(c) Religious congregations or organizations as indicated in ORS 106.150 (2); or

(d) A clergyperson of any religious congregation or organization who is authorized by the congregation or organization to solemnize marriages.

(3) A person authorized to solemnize marriages under subsection (2) of this section may solemnize a marriage anywhere in this state.

(4)(a) When a marriage is solemnized by a tax, appellate or circuit judge of this state, the clerk of the court or the county clerk shall collect a fee of $105 and deposit the fee in the Judicial Department Operating Account established in ORS 1.009.

(b) When a marriage is solemnized by a county clerk, the county clerk shall collect a fee of $105, as provided in ORS 205.320.

(c) The fee described in this subsection may be collected only if:

(A) The marriage is solemnized during normal working hours, excluding holidays;

(B) The marriage is solemnized in court facilities or a county clerk's office; or

(C) More than a minimal amount of staff time or other court or county clerk's office resources are used in connection with the solemnization.

(d) The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or the county clerk may establish a written procedure for waiver of the fee required under this subsection in exigent circumstances, including but not limited to indigency of the parties to the marriage.

(5) In addition to any fee collected under subsection (4) of this section, a judicial officer of this state and a county clerk may charge and accept an agreed upon personal payment not to exceed $100 plus actual costs for the solemnization of a marriage if that solemnization is performed:

(a) At a place other than the courthouse where the judicial officer or county clerk serves; or

(b) Outside of the judicial officer's or county clerk's normal working hours.

(6) The charging and accepting of a personal payment by a judicial officer of this state or a county clerk under subsection (5) of this section does not constitute a violation of any of the provisions of ORS chapter 244.

(7) The amount of actual costs charged by a judicial officer of this state or a county clerk under subsection (5) of this section may not exceed:

(a) Actual expenses for food and lodging as verified by receipts.

(b) If travel is made by personal vehicle, the actual number of round-trip miles from the judicial officer's or county clerk's home or office, whichever is greater, compensated at the rate of reimbursement then provided by the State of Oregon to its employees or, if travel is made by a commercial
carrier, reimbursement shall be made of the actual costs thereof, verified by receipts.

(8) A judicial officer of this state or a county clerk shall maintain records of the amount of personal payments received for performing marriages, of actual costs and the supporting documentation related thereto for a period of four years.

(9) The parties to a marriage solemnized by a tax, appellate or circuit judge of this state shall show to the judge proof of payment of the fee required under subsection (4)(a) of this section before solemnization. Except as provided in subsection (4)(d) of this section, the judge may not solemnize a marriage without proof of payment of the fee.

Note: Section 43, chapter 685, Oregon Laws 2013, provides:
Sec. 43.:RF8 The amendments to ORS 106.120 by section 42 of this 2013 Act apply to marriages solemnized on or after October 1, 2013. [2013 c.685 §43]

View the Oregon Statutes on the official state site
⇓ Show the rest

Baker County

1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, Oregon

Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240
Baker County website »

Benton County

120 NW 4th Street, Room 4
Corvallis, Oregon

Phone: (541) 766-6831
Fax: (541) 766-6675
Benton County website »

Clackamas County

1710 Red Soils Ct. #110
Oregon City, Oregon

Phone: (503) 655-8551
Fax: (503) 650-5688
Clackamas County website »

Clatsop County

820 Exchange St., Suite 220
Astoria, Oregon

Phone: (503) 325-8511
Fax: (503) 325-9307
Clatsop County website »

Columbia County

230 Strand Street
St. Helens, Oregon

Phone: (503) 397-7210
Fax: (888) 397-7210
Columbia County website »

Coos County

250 N. Baxter
Coquille, Oregon

Coos County website »

Crook County

300 NE 3rd Street
Prineville, Oregon

Phone: (541) 447-6555
Fax: (541) 416-3891
Crook County website »

Curry County

29821 Ellensburg Ave
Gold Beach, Oregon

Curry County website »

Deschutes County

1300 NW Wall Street, Suite 202
Bend, Oregon

Phone: (541) 388-6549
Fax: (541) 383-4424
Deschutes County website »

Douglas County

1036 SE Douglas Ave. Rm 124
Roseburg, Oregon

Phone: (541) 440-6113
Fax: (541) 440-4408
Douglas County website »

Gilliam County

221 S. Oregon St.
Condon, Oregon

Phone: (541) 384-2311
Fax: (541) 384-2166
Gilliam County website »

Grant County

201 S HUMBOLT, STE 290
CANYON CITY, Oregon

Phone: (541) 575-1675
Fax: (541) 575-2248
Grant County website »

Harney County

450 N Buena Vista
Burns, Oregon

Phone: (541) 573-6641
Fax: (541) 573-8370
Harney County website »

Hood River County

601 State Street
Hood River, Oregon

Phone: (541) 386-1442
Fax: (541) 387-6864
Hood River County website »

Jackson County

10 South Oakdale, Room 114
Medford, Oregon

Phone: (541) 774-6152
Fax: (541) 774-6714
Jackson County website »

Jefferson County

66 SE D Street, Suite C
Madras, Oregon

Phone: (541) 475-4451
Fax: (541) 325-5018
Jefferson County website »

Josephine County

500 NW Sixth Street, RM 170
Grant's Pass, Oregon

Phone: (541) 474-5240
Fax: (541) 474-5246
Josephine County website »

Klamath County

305 Main Street
Klamath Falls, Oregon

Phone: (541) 883-5134
Fax: (541) 885-6757
Klamath County website »

Lake County

513 Center Street
Lakeview, Oregon

Phone: (541) 947-6006
Fax: (541) 947-0905
Lake County website »

Lane County

125 E 8th Ave
Eugene, Oregon

Lane County website »

Lincoln County

225 West Olive Street
Newport, Oregon

Phone: (541) 265-4131
Fax: (541) 265-4950
Lincoln County website »

Linn County

300 SW 4TH AVE, Room 205
Albany, Oregon

Phone: (541) 967-3831
Fax: (541) 926-5109
Linn County website »

Malheur County

251 "B" Street West
Vale, Oregon

Phone: (541) 473-5151
Fax: (541) 473-5523
Malheur County website »

Marion County

555 Court Street NE
Salem, Oregon

Marion County website »

Morrow County

100 S Court St, Suite 102
Heppner, Oregon

Phone: (541) 676-5604
Fax: (541) 676-9876
Morrow County website »

Multnomah County

501 SE Hawthorne Blvd.
Portland, Oregon

Multnomah County website »

Polk County

850 Main Street
Dallas, Oregon

Phone: (503) 623-9217
Fax: (503) 623-0717
Polk County website »

Sherman County

500 Court St
Moro, Oregon

Phone: (541) 565-3606
Fax: (541) 565-3771
Sherman County website »

Tillamook County

201 Laurel Avenue
Tillamook, Oregon

Phone: (503) 842-3402
Fax: (503) 842-1599
Tillamook County website »

Umatilla County

216 S E 4th Street,
Pendleton, Oregon

Phone: (541) 278-6236
Fax: (541) 278-6345
Umatilla County website »

Union County

1001 Fourth Street
La Grande, Oregon

Phone: (541) 963-1006
Fax: (541) 963-1013
Union County website »

Wallowa County

101 S. River Street Rm 100
Enterprise, Oregon

Phone: (541) 426-4543
Fax: (541) 426-5901
Wallowa County website »

Wasco County

511 Washington Street, Suite 201
The Dalles, Oregon

Phone: (541) 506-2530
Fax: (541) 506-2531
Wasco County website »

Washington County

155 N First Ave, Rm 130
Hillsboro, Oregon

Phone: (503) 846-8752
Fax: (503) 846-3909
Washington County website »

Wheeler County

701 Adams St., Ste. 204
Fossil, Oregon

Phone: (541) 763-2374
Fax: (541) 763-2026
Wheeler County website »

Yamhill County

414 NE Evans Street
McMinnville, Oregon

Phone: (503) 434-7518
Fax: (503) 434-7520
Yamhill County website »