Utah Outline

Utah Marriage Laws

Congratulations! If you've found yourself at this page it is likely that you are either planning to be married or have been asked to perform a wedding ceremony in Utah. Ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church have successfully performed thousands of legal marriages in Utah. The information provided below will walk you through the steps one must follow to become a minister and perform a valid wedding ceremony in the state of Utah.

Quick Facts
  • ULC Ordination Accepted: Yes
  • Minister Registration Required: No
  • Minister's Residency: Irrelevant
  • Minister's Minimum Age: 18
  •  
  • Marriage License Waiting Period: 0 Days
  • Marriage License Valid For: 30 Days
  • Marriage License Return Within: 14 Days
  • Same-Sex Marriage Recognized: Yes

1 How to Become an Ordained Minister in Utah

If you haven't already, you should get ordained online with the Universal Life Church. Ordination is free and can be completed in just a matter of minutes. Thousands of legally valid marriages are performed by ULC ministers around the world every year. Begin the process by clicking the big blue button below!

2 How to Officiate a Marriage in Utah

Next, you should contact the office of your local marriage authority (typically your county clerk). Let them know that you are a minister of the Universal Life Church in Seattle, and ask what they will require of you to officiate a legal marriage.

Select your county to quickly generate the contact information for your local marriage authority.



Select a county

Utah's Top Wedding Spot

Utah's Top Wedding Spot

Sandstone arch in Canyonlands National Park

3 License to Marry in Utah

After you've contacted your marriage authority, you should visit our online store to purchase whatever documentation will be required. We typically advise ministers in Utah to get an Ordination Package. While minister registration is not required in the state of Utah, you may be asked to present proof of your ordination before your county clerk will accept any marriage you perform as having been legally solemnized; additionally, having that proof of ordination can provide a great deal of peace-of-mind for the couple you plan to marry. Additionally, please attempt to leave at least 3 weeks between the date of the wedding ceremony and your order, to ensure that you receive all of your materials in advance.

4 How to Perform a Wedding in Utah

Now that you've done all of the above, you are ready to perform the wedding! Be sure that the couple has picked up their Utah marriage license from the appropriate office. This license is valid for 30 days, but there is no mandatory waiting period between when the couple picks up the marriage license in Utah and when the ceremony may legally be conducted. Please be aware that the signed license must be returned to the issuing office within 14 days after the ceremony has been conducted. At the Universal Life Church we receive several calls from wedding officiants in Utah, after they've received their license to marry by getting ordained online, asking for guidance on how to perform a wedding ceremony. Once the legal matters have been taken care of, officiating a wedding (while a sometimes-daunting task) can be a great deal of fun. We would suggest that new Utah wedding ministers concerned about the ceremony peruse one of our helpful wedding guides. The minister training section of our website should offer a helpful refresher for more experienced ministers.


Utah Flag

Utah Marriage Code

Marriage in Utah is governed by Chapter 1 of Title 30 of Utah's Code. Ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church have successfully solemnized thousands of weddings in the state. Below, you will find that we have reproduced a relevant excerpt of this code
30-1-6. Who may solemnize marriages -- Certificate.
(1) Marriages may be solemnized by the following persons only:
(a) ministers, rabbis, or priests of any religious denomination who are:
(i) in regular communion with any religious society; and
(ii) 18 years of age or older;

[...]

Amended by Chapter 132, 2010 General Session

View the Utah Statutes on the official state site
⇓ Show the rest

Beaver County

P.O. Box 392
Beaver, Utah
84713

Phone: (435) 438-6463
Fax: (435) 438-6481
Beaver County website »

Box Elder County

01 S. Main Street
Brigham City, Utah
84302

Phone: (435) 734-3351
Fax: (435) 734-3382
Box Elder County website »

Cache County

179 No. Main Street
Logan, Utah
84321

Phone: (435) 755-1460
Fax: (435) 755-1980
Cache County website »

Carbon County

120 East Main
Price, Utah
84501

Phone: (435) 636-3224
Fax: (435) 636-3210
Carbon County website »

Daggett County

P.O. Box 219??
Manila, Utah
84046

Phone: (435) 784-3154
Fax: (435) 784-3335
Daggett County website »

Davis County

P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah
84025

Phone: (801) 451-3213
Fax: (801) 451-3421
Davis County website »

Duchesne County

P.O. Box 270
Duchesne, Utah
84021

Phone: (435) 738-1100
Fax: (435) 738-5522
Duchesne County website »

Emery County

P.O. Box 907
Castle Dale, Utah
84513

Phone: (435) 381-5106
Fax: (435) 381-5183
Emery County website »

Garfield County

P.O. Box 77
Panguitch, Utah
84759

Phone: (435) 676-8826
Fax: (435) 676-8239
Garfield County website »

Grand County

125 E. Center
Moab, Utah
84532

Phone: (435) 676-8826
Fax: (435) 259-2959
Grand County website »

Iron County

P.O. Box 429
Parowan, Utah
84761

Phone: (435) 477-8340
Fax: (435) 477-8847
Iron County website »

Juab County

160 N. Main
Nephi, Utah
84648

Phone: (435) 623-3410
Fax: (435) 623-5936
Juab County website »

Kane County

76 North Main
Kanab, Utah
84741

Phone: (435) 644-2458
Fax: (435) 644-2052
Kane County website »

Millard County

765 S. Highway 99
Fillmore, Utah
84631

Phone: (435) 743-6223
Fax: (435) 743-6923
Millard County website »

Morgan County

P.O. Box 886
Morgan, Utah
84050

Phone: (801) 845-4011
Fax: (801) 829-6176
Morgan County website »

Piute County

P.O. Box 99
Junction, Utah
84740

Phone: (435) 577-2840
Fax: (435) 577-2433
Piute County website »

Rich County

20 South Main
P.O. Box 218
Randolph, Utah
84064

Phone: (435) 793-2415
Fax: (435) 793-2410
Rich County website »

Salt Lake County

2001 S. State Street
Salt Lake City, Utah
84190

Phone: (801) 468-8683
Fax: (801) 468-3473
Salt Lake County website »

San Juan County

P.O. Box 33
Monticello, Utah
84535

Phone: (435) 587-3223
Fax: (435) 587-2425
San Juan County website »

Sanpete County

160 N. Main
P. O. Box 100
Manti, Utah
84642

Phone: (435) 835-2131
Fax: (435) 835-2135
Sanpete County website »

Sevier County

P.O. Box 607
Richfield, Utah
84701

Phone: (435) 893-0401
Fax: (435) 893-0496
Sevier County website »

Summit County

P.O. Box 128
Coalville, Utah
84017

Phone: (435) 336-3204
Fax: (435) 336-3030
Summit County website »

Tooele County

47 So. Main
Tooele, Utah
84074

Phone: (435) 843-3140
Fax: (435) 882-7317
Tooele County website »

Uintah County

147 East Main
Vernal, Utah
84078

Phone: (435) 781-5361
Fax: (435) 781-6701
Uintah County website »

Utah County

100 East Center
Provo, Utah
84606

Phone: (801) 851-8128
Fax: (801) 851-8122
Utah County website »

Wasatch County

25 No. Main
Heber City, Utah
84032

Phone: (435) 654-3211
Fax: (435) 657-3328
Wasatch County website »

Washington County

197 E. Tabernacle
St. George, Utah
84770

Phone: (435) 634-5712
Fax: (435) 634-5753
Washington County website »

Wayne County

P.O. Box 189
Loa, Utah
84747

Phone: (435) 836-1300
Fax: (435) 836-2479
Wayne County website »

Weber County

2380 Washington Blvd.
Ogden, Utah
84401

Phone: (801) 399-8434
Fax: (801) 399-8300
Weber County website »