Wyoming Wedding Laws

How to Perform a Wedding in Wyoming

The state of Wyoming has relatively standard regulations for marriage laws. It is important that any ordained minister desiring to perform a Wyoming wedding ensure that they adhere to these policies in a prompt manner to ensure the legality of the marriage.

How to Become an Ordained Minister in Wyoming

Wyoming allows ordained ministers from all religious organizations. Ministers of non-religious organizations may also officiate weddings as well. All ministers must be able to establish that they have been authorized by their respective organization to solemnize a marriage. Universal Life Church Monastery ministers who are ordained online meet these requirements.

How to Perform a Wedding Ceremony in Wyoming

Any religious society or religious assembly may perform the ceremony of marriage. The clerk or an official shall record and transmit to the county clerk of the county a certificate of the marriage. An ordained minister with the Universal Life Church Monastery might find it helpful to view our three-step guide to conducting a wedding ceremony - a useful tool we have provided as part of our online seminary.

Marriage Paperwork Required in Wyoming

Every minister must be either licensed or have Ordination Credentials of the gospel to be able to perform marriages. Ministers must give a marriage certificate to the bride and groom upon request and must return a certificate to the county clerk.

Wyoming Marriage Laws

20-1-106. Who may solemnize marriage; form of ceremony. (a) Every district or circuit court judge, district court commissioner, supreme court justice, magistrate and every licensed or ordained minister of the gospel, bishop, priest or rabbi, or other qualified person acting in accordance with the traditions or rites for the solemnization of marriage of any religion, denomination or religious society, may perform the ceremony of marriage in this state. (b) In the solemnization of marriage no particular form is required, except that the parties shall solemnly declare in the presence of the person performing the ceremony and at least two (2) attending witnesses that they take each other as husband and wife.

Gay Marriage and Same Sex Wedding Laws:

This state currently bans same-sex marriage by State Law.

The Monastery Ordination Credential

To perform a marriage in Wyoming you need to be ordained and may be required to provide proof of ordination such as an ordination credential, wallet credential, or a letter of good standing from the church.

Read the full Law on the official site »

Wyoming Wedding Laws by County

Albany County

525 Grand Ave
Suite 202
Laramie, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 721-2543
Fax: (307) 721-2543
E-mail: jgonzales@co.albany.wy.us
Albany County website »

Big Horn County

County Courthouse
P.O. Box 31
Basin, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 568-2357
Fmx: (307) 568-9375
E-mail: clerk@bighorncountywy.gov
Big Horn County website »

Campbell County

P.O. Box 3010
Gillette, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 682-7285
Fmx: (307) 687-6455
E-mail: sfs02@ccg.co.campbell.wy.us
Campbell County website »

Carbon County

P.O. Box 6
Rawlins, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 328-2668
Fax: (307) 328-2669
E-mail: gwynnbartlett@carbonwy.com
Carbon County website »

Converse County

107 North 5th Street
Suite 114
Douglas, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 358-2244
Fax: (307) 358-5998
E-mail: lucile.taylor@conversecounty.org
Converse County website »

Crook County

P.O. Box 37
Sundance, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 283-1323
Fax: (307) 283-3038
E-mail: conniet@crookcounty.wy.gov
Crook County website »

Fremont County

450 North 2nd Street
Room 220
Lander, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 332-2405
Fmx: (307) 332-1132
E-mail: julie.freese@fremontcountygovernment.org
Fremont County website »

Goshen County

P.O. Box 160
Torrington, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 532-4051
Fax: (307) 532-7375
E-mail: caddy@goshencounty.org
Goshen County website »

Hot Springs County

415 Araphahoe
Thermopolis, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 864-3515
Fax: (307) 864-3333
E-mail: hanso@hscounty.com
Hot Springs County website »

Johnson County

76 North Main Street
Buffalo, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 684-7272
Fax: (307) 684-2708
E-mail: clerk@johnsoncowy.us
Johnson County website »

Laramie County

P.O. Box 608
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 633-4268
Fmx: (307) 633-4240
E-mail: dlathrop@wyoming.com
Laramie County website »

Lincoln County

925 Sage Avenue
Suite 101
Kemmerer, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 877-9056 ext 303
Fmx: (307) 877-3101
E-mail: jwagner@lcwy.org
Lincoln County website »

Natrona County

P.O. Box 863
Casper, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 235-9217
Fax: (307) 235-9367
E-mail: rvitto@natronacounty-wy.gov
Natrona County website »

Niobrara County

P.O. Box 420
Lusk, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 334-2211
Fmx: (307) 334-3013
E-mail: niocc@qwestoffice.net
Niobrara County website »

Park County

1002 Sheridan
Cody, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 527-8600
Fax: (307) 527-8626
E-mail: kjensen@parkcounty.us
Park County website »

Platte County

P.O. Drawer 728
Wheatland, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 322-2315
Fax: (307) 322-2245
E-mail: pcclerk@plattecountywyoming.com
Platte County website »

Sheridan County

224 South Main Street
Suite B-2
Sheridan, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 674-2500
Fmx: (307) 674-2909
E-mail: elections@sheridancounty.com
Sheridan County website »

Sublette County

P.O. Box 250
Pinedale, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 367-4372
Fax: (307) 367-6396
E-mail: maryl@sublettewyo.com
Sublette County website »

Sweetwater County

80 West Flaming Gorge Way

Suite 150
Green River, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 872-3732
Fax: (307) 872-3994
E-mail: davisd@sweet.wy.us
Sweetwater County website »

Teton County

P.O. Box 1727
Jackson, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 733-4430
Fax: (307) 739-8681
E-mail: sdaigle@tetonwyo.org
Teton County website »

Uinta County

P.O. Box 810
Evanston, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 783-0306
Fmx: (307) 783-0376
E-mail: lawilcox@uintacounty.com
Uinta County website »

Washakie County

P.O. Box 260
Worland, Wyoming
Phone: (307) 347-3131
Fax: (307) 347-9366
E-mail: strauc5@rtconnect.net
Washakie County website »

Weston County

1 West Main
Newcastle, Wyoming

Phone: (307) 746-4744
Fmx: (307) 746-9505
E-mail: wcclerk@rtconnect.net
Weston County website »